Get Updates Directly In Your Inbox

Friday, February 4, 2011

Delete or Create Network Bridge- Windows 7




How to Delete or Create a Network Bridge in Windows 7

Information
This article will show you how to create a network bridge to connect two or more of your networks together so that they can communicate.

You can only create one network bridge on a computer, but the one network bridge can handle any number of network connections added to it.



Warning
You should not create a bridge between an Internet connection and a network connection because it creates an unprotected link between your network and the Internet, which makes your network accessible to anyone on the Internet.

Here's How:
1. Click or right click on the Network icon in the notification area, then click on Open Network and Sharing Center. (see screenshot below)



A) Go to step 3.
OR

2. Open the Control Panel (icon view), and click on the Network and Sharing Center icon.

3. Click on the Change adapter settings link. (see screenshot below)



4. To Create a Network Bridge -

A) Press and hold down the CTRL key and select each network connection that you want to bridge together. (see screenshot below)

NOTE:
You must select at least two network connections to be able to bridge them together.
B) Release the CTRL key, then right click on one of the selected network connections and click on Bridge Connections. (see screenshot below)



C) If prompted by UAC, then click on Yes (if administrator) or type in the administrator's password (if standard user).

D) After a moment, you will now have a network bridge of the selected network connections. (see screenshot below)



E) Go to step 6.

5. To Delete a Network Bridge -

A) Right click on the Network Bridge and click on Delete. (see screenshot below)



B) Click on Yes. (see screenshot below)



C) If prompted by UAC, then click on Yes (if administrator) or type in the administrator's password (if standard user).

D) After a moment, the network bridge will be deleted and removed. (see screenshot below)



6. When finished, you can now close the Network Connections window. (see screenshot above or below step 5D)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search This Blog

Followers

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More